Of Writing, Getting Ideas and Following Through

This is a great post about being a writer and the writing process: Of Writing, Getting Ideas and Following Through. I don’t necessarily think of myself as a writer.  I don’t have a literary–geared mind, nor am I obsessed with great literary figures of past and present. But, as a researcher I am a writer, just not in the conventional sense or in the sense of the image I have in my own mind of what or who a writer is. Writing is all about what you want to say and the audience you are addressing. For me writing my PhD has very much been about fishing for the right ideas, phrases and individual words – something I had not so eloquently thought until reading the post by ofopinions.

As quoted by ofopions: “When things are going well, I can’t write fast enough to keep up with my mind. Writing walks, speech runs and talk flies. Other times, though, it’s like fishing.” – Dylan Moran.

Source: Of Writing, Getting Ideas and Following Through

2 comments

  1. Thank you, Rachel. Another great metaphor is obviously ‘excavating” for the right ideas, the right words, the right line of thought etc, that is more in line with Archaeology! Good luck with your Ph.D!

Leave a Reply

