Countdown to a PhD : the VIVA

It’s been a while since my last post about my progress towards handing in. Have no fear, hand in was achieved, Thursday 24th March 2016.

The nervous wait for a VIVA date followed. I say it was a nervous wait but I actually managed to distract myself quite successfully by filling my diary with freelance excavation work. In fact, I was so successful at occupying my time that I completely forgot about the VIVA until some unsuspecting soul asked me about it. Even after the date had been confirmed I was not connected to or engaged with it. It seemed like this thing that I knew was going to happen to me but was far from being real at that point.

V Day – THIS FRIDAY! 17th June 2pm.

I spent my time enjoying doing my day job. I also taught on the undergraduate training excavation which was exhausting and rewarding. Still had nothing to do with my VIVA though.

Finally, a couple of weeks ago, I faced up to the fact that I suppose I’d better do some prep for it. I had a meeting with my supervisor the outcome of which was him telling me he wasn’t worried about it and couldn’t think of any serious issues off the top of his head. A win right?

That’s what you’d think. In fact I spent the following week mostly doing commercial work and other non-VIVA related activities (including the Great Knaresborough Bed Race) and telling anyone who asked that I was relaxed about the whole situation.

Then came Monday, yesterday. I realised I have 4 and a half days until V day. I expected the little panic monkey in my heard to wake up and start running around in abject terror, and yet… I think I have more of a panic sloth.

FullSizeRender 2

I am revising this week (re-reading and making edits to my thesis). And I am aware that my VIVA is in2 and a half days. But somehow I still feel rather disconnected. I think this is good as I am not panicking and will hopefully have a cool, calm and collected head on Friday afternoon. I’m not sure how I’m going to feel when it is all over.

It’s true what they say, you have to account for the fact you will grieve for your PhD.

Hopefully this is all indicative of the fact that I know my thesis and my research so well the sloth has decided it is all nothing to worry about and the panic monkey, with his tiny voice, is being ridiculous.

Perhaps its more of a faith-in-myself sloth…

Leave a Reply

